Posted on July 17, 2006
A quick note about the ratings. Since I keep track of which images you have rated (so you can only vote once), I had a decision to make about what to do with that record after (heaven forbid) your account expires. If I delete the records, then if you renew again you will need to vote on all of the images again in order to view the rankings. If I don’t delete the records, then if someone else signs up and uses your old username they won’t be able to vote on the images you had voted on.
Jessie suggested that I give a 30 day grace period, but that doesn’t solve the unlikely problem of someone signing up during that time and picking your old username.
In the end, I decided that the records will be deleted along with the expired account. The ratings you gave will remain, but the record that says that “username x voted for image y” will be deleted. If you renew again you will be free to vote again (whether that is a joy or a burden is up to you).
Thanks everyone for voting. It’s been very enlightening for me!